Wow. What an amazing first day! I was so proud of the team. We arrived in Abuja okay, but our layover went over. Pastor Mike decided to take us to a market near the airport where they make authentic Nigerian clothes. That worked out good for me, because the more Nigerian suits I have ($20 apiece) the less western suits I need to where while preaching. The Nigerian suits are made with the hot sun in mind—not so much the two piecer with tie!

We arrived back at the airport and waited another two hours. Despite it all there was almost no complaining. We arrived to a warm welcome from Pastor Zaki the Lion (His name means lion and his anointing fits it!) and his team. I was a little shocked when I saw my face on a t-shirt. Apparently this was part of Pastor Mike’s promoting the conference. I have tried very hard to present this as team concept, but Nigeria is very used to the “man of God is coming” approach. The truth is that I wouldn’t even be here if not for pastor Mike’s hard work and our Israeli team.

By the time most of us got to sleep it was 1AM. We had to be up at six for a day of ‘visiting’. The Nigerian people taking hosting very seriously and they wanted us to know that we were being received by them. We went from Song, to Gombi, to Hong, to a town I can’t pronounce, and then when we thought we were done, a small village on the way back ‘ambushed’ us. They had a crowd of a couple hundred people, a huge sign promoting the outreach and demanded that our convey stop and greet them. They had a marching band and a pulpit.

The team was hungry and exhausted, but how could you not stop? What hunger, and honor. We stopped and after introductions, I shared briefly and because I had just read a story by a well-known evangelist, how he learned never to close a meeting without an altar call I went for it. I knew that most of the people there were believers, but you never know. Plus, our huge security detail needed to hear the gospel and be given an opportunity to respond.

At the invitation it seemed half the crowd raised their hands! And that was wasn’t first response like that of the day (and so it really didn’t surprise me). At the previous town of the name I can’t pronounce, after we had left the mayor, a fired-up believer who was so excited to have Israelis bless his town, we attended a similar gathering. The car pulled right up to the podium in an open field. Hundreds of hungry believers were there singing and waiting. I only had a few minutes and shared briefly. It was then that I first thought, “even though the campaign hasn’t begun, let’s have an appetizer and see what happens.”

I gave the altar call and about a hundred hands went up. Thrilled I led them in a prayer of salvation. I do recognize that some of them were already saved. They were just so excited. The anticipation for this campaign in unreal. In every city we went there were hundreds of posters. One pastor told me it is all people are talking about. Mike Moses, the Nigerian with a Jewish name, has done an amazing job promoting this. God’s hand has been on him. The rest if up to God. And we are standing in faith expecting miracles. Why not? Isn’t God more eager to save people and heal them than we are?

When we arrived in Gombi earlier in the day, once again many believers met us at the border of the city. The Muslim mayor was there as well. I remembered meeting him the first time and it was quite strange and even a little scary to be preaching in a town with a Muslim mayor and yet, he greeted me with a hug, like an old friend. On the first trip he was a little cold and skeptical, now he was warm and opened. I found out why.

He told us that since our visit in August God has been blessing the city. The horrible two-lane, potholed road, is now four lanes and smooth. The federal government makes these decisions and they are not easy to come by and it happened just after our ministry. He also said he heard reports of miraculous healings including one of a lame man walking after our time of ministry. We didn’t even know about this!

What a joy it would be to see this man meet Yeshua!

Afterwards he presented me with a tribal outfit and told me that the King of Gombi, who was there, would give me an official title! Yes there is a King of Gombi, and the team was as shocked as was I to see a large picture of the King and me hanging on the wall. It was from the August visit.

In each place we went I prayed for them in Yeshua’s name and sang the Aaronic benediction over them. However, I think the most amazing reception was in the city whose name I can’t pronounce. There were hundreds of posters for the campaign. And when the people realized that our convoy was us, they began to tape the posters to their motorcycles and ride by us. Others held them up as we drove by.

When we finally arrived back at the lodge, we ate and checked in. Now they will feed us again and we will have a team meeting. Tomorrow the work begin in earnest. Thousands will come. And if God show up and pours out his Spirit, saving the lost and healing the sick, they will in turn bring thousands.

The expectation in this city is like nothing I have ever seen. They are so honored that we have come to them.

EVENING 1
This evening the local pastors and committee chairmen held a dinner in our honor. As the African musicians played worship music, the African pastors began to dance. I was excited to see virtually our whole team jump up and start dancing with them. Just before dinner they presented our entire team with traditional African suits for the men and dresses for the girls. The guys immediately put theirs on over their clothes and women received instructions from the African women on how to where the dresses. The best part was the head coverings for the women. Before I knew it, nearly the whole team was dressed like Nigerians. The pictures are amazing.

That is one of the things I love about Israelis—they so quickly adapt to other cultures with joy. I don’t know if that is because we have a tiny country made up of people from so many different cultures or if it is because it is in our DNA to be a light to the nations. Either way, as the team leader, I just sat back watched them enjoy each other.

It is 12:18 AM. It was a full day and I am tired. Tomorrow night the meetings begin. I feel faith like never before, but the truth is that even though my picture is plastered all over this city, I have never done what I am going to do tomorrow night. It appears they don’t know that, but it is filling me with a healthy dose of sobriety and dependence on the Lord. More to come. Bless you! Thank you for support. The team thanks you!

